The Wonders of Resin 3D Printing

Please link your painting and modelling projects here for feedback and to show off your work
jus

The Wonders of Resin 3D Printing

Post by jus » Sun Mar 28, 2021 8:06 am

So I got tired of waiting for cursed city to release and got resin 3D printer. I blame coronavirus. I shall have to print my own vampires

..and it just arrived today. Welcome to my unboxing post.

Right then, this bad boy is the Elegoo Mars 2 pro. I spent all of yesterday watching YouTube videos in preparation for my first print.

Although watching it done and actually doing it youself are two different things. I tried to be as prepared as possible but I must admit I am an absolute complete novice.

The resin I am using is a water washable type that does not required isopropal alcohol to clean. Warm tap water will suffice.
First test print is underway so I'll get back to you in a few hours. Fingers crossed. Initial thoughts are ...

1) The highly toxic liquid resin is somewhat nauseating if you sniff it directly, but otherwise not too bad.
2) The test print is a Chess Rook about the size of a Primaris marine and it says it will be done in 2 hours. Quite impressive as the earlier Mars model takes around 4 hours.
3) The process and variables are quite involved. There are many fun factors that need to be considered such as room temperature, exposure times, layer counts...not to mention the cleaning and curing.
4) I have whole patreon libraries of miniatures in the queue to be printed

Primarch
Evil Overlord

Re: The Wonders of Resin 3D Printing

Post by Primarch » Sun Mar 28, 2021 8:20 am

Cool! Good luck with the test run.
Painted Minis in 2014: 510, in 2015: 300, in 2016 :369, in 2019: 417, in 2020: 450

jus

Post by jus » Sun Mar 28, 2021 11:01 am

@prim: