Commander Conversion Project

Please link your painting and modelling projects here for feedback and to show off your work
Seb
Champion

Commander Conversion Project

Post by Seb » Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:52 pm

Hi,

I just decided on my commander in my Space Marine army, which is going to be a chapter master in terminator armour with thunder hammer and stormshield.
I was choosing between the terminator captain and the Njal Stormcaller model but eventually settled on the terminator captain. ( http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catal ... rod1050241 )
Bought it at Wayland Games btw.

At this stage I plan to replace the original head with a customised chaos lord head (chop of the horns), give him an iron halo, hammer and shield.
I have no experience converting models but I figure I have to give him a face job with a dremel tool to make it happen, the weapons and iron halo will probably be easier.

I just wanted to ask you guys about converting models especially metal to plastic and metal to metal, any advice will be greatly appreciated. Furthermore are there any tools that you recommend?

and...

I ordered the chaos lord head and the iron halo bits from a site called Bitzbox, but they were out of stormshields and thunder hammers so I also would like to know if anyone maybe has some spare bits that they are willing to sell?

me_in_japan
Moderator of Swoosh!

Re: Commander Conversion Project

Post by me_in_japan » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:29 am

interestingly, I just gave a bunch of spare thunder hammers and storm shields to Spevna today. I doooont think he has any specific plan for em, and I reckon if you asked nicely he could spare a set. Not sure though.

Can you post links to the specific chaos lord head and iron halo head? I'm happy to advise the best way to convert stuff, but I'll be able to give better advice based off what bitz you wanna use.