Mtg arena open beta

Discussion of any trading card games. e.g. Magic, Yu-gi-oh, Gundam War, etc.
me_in_japan
Moderator of Swoosh!

Mtg arena open beta

Post by me_in_japan » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:24 am

As you may be aware, the new Magic game on the pc is Magic Arena, and I’ve been playing the closed beta for a couple months now. As of yesterday, the official announcement of open beta (ie still technically in development but fully open to the public) is go from September 27th. Now (well, from the 27th) would be a very good time to get into this game, if you’re so inclined, as everyone will be starting from a level playing field. It’s free to play (I once spent 5usd on the ridiculously good value welcome pack, but that’s all the cash I’ve ever dropped or ever will) and is genuinely one of the best versions of Magic I’ve tried. Also, there are tutorials and suchlike for those who have no idea what all the fuss is about.

Anyway, sales pitch: over. I’ve got no stake in this other than at some point down the line Wizards have said there will be support for organised games between players (as opposed to the current random match ups) and I reckon it’d be awesome if we could all play each other at Magic in the evenings from time to time.

Here’s the announcement trailer, btw. As some wit on Facebook said “has Danny Trejo ever refused a job?” :lol:

https://youtu.be/tpOySUK3Vdc
current (2019) hobby interests
eh, y'know. Stuff, and things

Wow. And then Corona happened. Just....crickets, all the way through to 2023...

me_in_japan
Moderator of Swoosh!

Re: Mtg arena open beta

Post by me_in_japan » Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:54 am

as a follow up to this highly commented-upon thread :roll:, the MTGA beta has moved onto having PvP matches available. By which I mean, you can now choose to play matches against your friends (yay! - and there was much rejoicing in the MTGA community). I'd be rejoicing, too, if I had any friends who played MTGA....

hint...

hint...

:D

Primarch