Thrashing a Newb or letting him/her win?

For people living in the Chubu region of Japan
Admiral-Badruck
Destroyer of Worlds

Thrashing a Newb or letting him/her win?

Post by Admiral-Badruck » Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:57 pm

I am getting in to a few new games. Warmahordes and WHFB are 2 new games that I have started playing... I had a game of Warmahordes last weekend, it was good fun but I got stomped. I played a few games of 40k last week with a total newb I played him and he won twice in a row. seemed like he really enjoyed the games.

My question is "should you stomp a baby or should you change his dippers "?

What are your thought guys?
Last edited by Admiral-Badruck on Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
"i agree with badruck" -...
MIJ
Consider me a member of the "we love badruck" fan-club.
MIJ

The Underdweller
Legend

Re: Thrashing a Newb or letting him/her win?

Post by The Underdweller » Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:10 pm

As a relatively new player I would say it is nice to win, but if I knew someone was letting me win I wouldn't have as much fun; also I would probably repeat bad strategies in later games which appeared to be successful but really weren't.

However, if you had some sort of handicap, like playing an army you weren't very familiar with, or which was relatively underpowered, it might make the game more interesting and challenging for the more experienced player as well.

Colonel Voss

Post by Colonel Voss » Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:07 pm

A handicap is always good. Usually if I play a newb, I take a light army or a deploy really crappy so that I have to come from behind. Usually this makes things a close game which is the best I think.